Thursday, October 21, 2010

Blog Tour & Contest: Blood Trinity

Blood Trinity
Belador Series #1
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Dianna Love
Paperback: 528 pages
Publisher: Pocket
Released: 10/19/10
Available in print & digital from Amazon.

Summary: Atlanta has become the battlefield between human and demon. All her life, Evalle Kincaid has walked the line between the two. Her origins unknown, she’s on a quest to learn more about her past . . . and her future.When a demon claims a young woman in a terrifying attack and there’s no one else to blame, Evalle comes under suspicion. Now she’s on a deadly quest for her own survival. Through the sordid underground of an alternate Atlanta where nothing is as it seems to the front lines of the city, where her former allies have joined forces to hunt her, Evalle must prove her innocence or pay the ultimate price.But saving herself is the least of her problems if she doesn’t stop the coming apocalypse. The clock is ticking and Atlanta is about to catch fire. . . .

I asked to review Blood Trinity and received a copy this week from the publisher. I will definitely be given this book a second read because it's the first in the series with a lot of fascinating introductions, and a new world to learn about. The book is urban fantasy with a bit of paranormal romance as the main character, Evalle (E-val with a long A), works with a team of supernatural men, has two best friends that are men, and discovers two more men she's attracted to for the first time in her life. Yeah, we could say "It's raining men for Evalle" and seriously mean it. I always read a first book in a series with anticipation because in the back of my mind as I read I make my little list of cool side characters that might be featured in future books. In this case there is plenty of possibilities.

This is the first book in The Belador Series, though it did start with the story Midnight Kiss Goodbye in the anthology Dead After Dark, which features Trey and Sasha. They do appear in Blood Trinity as well.

The authors have written an engaging and suspenseful tale of magic, time travel, and legends come to life. I loved the relationship between the heroine, Evalle and her fellow warriors, Quinn and Tzader (silent T). They are protective of her like big brothers, often scolding her for taking chances and not asking for help. She loves them and will protect them at all costs for their love and loyalty. Their witty banter is also a nice comic relief from the mayhem and murder going on around them.

Evalle is a tough heroine with a tortured, abusive childhood. Trust is almost impossible for her to give, as well as love, but she's not hardened completely. She cares about people who can't protect themselves, and a special pet that is adorable and freaky at the same time. The introduction to her pet is one of my favorite parts of the book.

Blood Trinity will appeal to readers of Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole, and Lara Adrian. I really enjoyed the book, and can't wait for the next one which is scheduled to be released in the Fall of 2011.

You can learn more about Blood Trinity and the series at both author's websites.

The publisher has graciously allowed me to give away one copy of Blood Trinity, which is good because as much as I love you guys, I'm keeping mine:) As usual, answer my question for your entry. The contest will end October 31st, 2010.

Many times characters in books have pets. What pet do you remember from a book that really stuck with you when you were reading, and even afterwards? Give the name of the book, and the type of pet.

I'll randomly pick the winner the morning of November 1st, 2010.