Sunday, March 25, 2012

Allison Pang's A Sliver of Shadow

A Sliver of Shadow
Abby Sinclair 2
By Allison Pang
Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Pocket Books
Released: 2/28/2012
Available from Amazon in e-book and paperback

SUMMARY: Just when her new life as a TouchStone – a mortal bound to help OtherFolk cross between Faery and human worlds – seems to be settling down, Abby Sinclair is left in charge when the Protectorate, Moira, leaves for the Faery Court. And when the Protectorate’s away…let’s just say things spiral out of control when a spell on Abby backfires and the Faery Queen declares the Doors between their worlds officially closed.

The results are disastrous for both sides: OtherFolk trapped in the mortal world are beginning to fade, while Faerie is on the brink of war with the daemons of Hell. Along with her brooding eleven prince Talivar and sexy incubus Brystion, Abby ventures to the CrossRoads in an attempt to override the Queen’s magic. But nothing in this beautiful, dangerous realm will compare to the discoveries she’s making about her past, her destiny, and what she will sacrifice for those she loves.

Allison Pang has created a world that is magical and beautiful, yet edgy and dark at the same time. The heroine, Abby, is a wonderful character who is full of passion, loyalty, and a need to do the right thing even when it means sadness or sacrifice.

In the second book of the series, we are reunited with characters, including a sarcastic, perverted minature unicorn, a broody incubus, a beautiful fairy baby, a crippled prince and the friends that have Abby's back. The author reveals more about all of the characters, taking us deeper into the intrique of this magical world.

We also meet new characters, and travel in the land of the fae. A Sliver of Shadow is full of action, romance, friendship, danger, tested loyalties, and much more. I had trouble putting the book down once I started, wanting to know what was going to happen next. I have to mention that I was especially fond of Talivar, an elf who, according to our heroine Abby, looks like Legalos with a leather eye patch and facial "scruff". Let's take a minute to envision this:

Sigh. Next to Abby, he's my favorite character in A Sliver of Shadow, and we learn much about him in this story. Yes, I'd wear a Team Talivar t-shirt in a heartbeat.

Fans of Jaye Wells, Melissa Marr and Kim Harrison will love Allison Pang. I can't wait to read the third story in the series, A Trace of Moonlight, which is scheduled for October 2012.

You can read an excerpt of the first and second book here: