Wednesday, September 28, 2011

New Release: Alterant, Belador #2

AlterantSeries: Belador #2
Sherrilyn Kenyon & Dianna Love
Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Pocket Star
Released 9/27/2011

SUMMARY: The way Evalle Kincaid sees it, saving mankind from total destruction should have cleared her name. But when words uttered in the heat of combat are twisted against her, she's blamed for the prison break of three dangerous Alterants. She has one chance to clear the cloud of suspicion hanging over her…for good. All she has to do is recapture the escapees. But deals with gods and goddesses are tricky at best, and now the lives of all Beladors, and the safety of innocent humans, rides on Evalle's success. The only person she can ask for help wants to see her dead.

I read and reviewed the first book in the Belador series, Blood Trinity, last year. The review is here if you haven't read it. All of the characters are back in this second story. The relationship between the heroine, Evalle and her fellow warriors, Quinn and Tzader is explored further as Evalle is under attack from different sides in this complex world. Supernatural bigotry rears its ugly head and it's often hard to know who's the good guy and who's the bad guy.

The relationship between Evalle and Storm, a supernatural tracker with a secret Evalle keeps even from her friends, figures in the story prominently. He's a sexy alpha male with feelings that cause him to be uber protective of Evalle. The sexual tension is off the charts between the two of them but sex is not going to happen any time soon, which might put off some readers but I appreciated it. Evalle suffered sexual abuse in the past and it would have been insensitive and unrealistic to have her jump in the sack immediately with Storm, especially since he can tell she's been abused. I love their relationship, and look forward to what happens next.

Readers who love Maria Lima, Chloe Neill, or Ilona Andrews will enjoy the Belador series.

Find out more and read an excerpt from Alterant at Dianna Love's website:

The authors also have a free short story from the Belador world entitled FIRE BOUND:

A dangerous creature is on the loose. Evalle, Tzader and Quinn take a VIPER team just outside of Atlanta for a sting operation that takes a deadly turn. Killing the half-human creature would be possible, but national security is on the line until the team can discover who created the monster, and whether more like it are waiting in the wings to be unleashed on the human world. The op goes bad with Beladors in the middle of it, and nothing turns out as expected, least of all for Evalle.
Read it for free on Pocket After Dark: