Monday, June 7, 2010

Magic Bleeds: The Best in the Series?

Magic Bleeds
Kate Daniels, Book 4
Author: Ilona Andrews
Mass Market Paperback 384 pages
Publisher: Ace (May 25, 2010)
Available at Indie Bound, Powell's Books, Barnes & Noble and Amazon

Summary: Kate Daniels cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to deal with-especially if they involve Atlanta's shapeshifting community. And now there's a new player in town-a foe that may be too much for even Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family.

While waiting for my copy of Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews I stayed away from blogs and forums that would give spoilers, but I noticed many readers and reviewers praising the book as "the best one yet." I thought a lot about this, especially as I read the first three books again while waiting for my copy to arrive. Some books have a kind of instant gratification. Many series feature a couple per book and their struggle to find that elusive Happily Ever After. The reader knows they will get together before the book ends, and that can be a good thing. Other series, like the Kate Daniels novels, take the reader on a journey with the main character through their struggles with love, friendship, and finding their place in the world that doesn't always take the easiest path. I think Magic Bleeds gives the impression of being "the best book yet" because the reader is so involved in Kate's struggles at this point that they feel like they are there with her as she kicks evils butt, and starts to find her place in the world. For me, all four books are equally as well written and gripping.

Looking back over all of the books in the series, I think the writing has always reached out and grabbed the reader with the fast paced action, emotion, and humor. The authors have the ability to make the reader feel Kate's emotions with her, whether it's fear, anger, love, compassion or frustration. After finishing Magic Bleeds I had to go back to a few of my favorite scenes and read them again. I realized that they would not have had the same impact if they had come any sooner then they did. THAT to me is a sign of a talented writer. A good book, or series, doesn't always give you instant gratification. It makes you invest time and emotion in the characters and the world so when the good things happen you feel like you somehow had a part in it.

Magic Bleeds is everything readers have come to love about Ilona Andrews. I want you to read it, but I also want you to read the first three books beforehand so instead of peaking at the gift ahead of time, you wait and feel the full effect of the surprise when it happens. No peaking. Trust me, it will be worth it.

The books in the Kate Daniels series are:

Kate Daniels Novels
1. Magic Bites (2007)
2. Magic Burns (2008)
3. Magic Strikes (2009)
4. Magic Bleeds (2010)

Go. Buy. Read.