Thursday, August 30, 2012

Thirteen to End It All

Women of the Otherworld
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Hardcover: 464 pages
Publisher: Dutton Adult
First Edition (July 24, 2012)
Available for the Kindle
Summary: A war is brewing—the first battle has been waged and Savannah Levine is left standing, albeit battered and bruised. She has rescued her half brother from supernatural medical testing, but he’s fighting to stay alive. The Supernatural Liberation Movement took him hostage, and they have a plan to expose the supernatural world to the unknowing. Savannah has called upon her inner energy to summon spells with frightening strength, a strength she never knew she had, as she fights to keep her world from shattering. But it’s more than a matter of supernaturals against one another—both heaven and hell have entered the war; hellhounds, genetically modified werewolves, and all forces of good and evil have joined the fray. Uniting Savannah with Adam, Paige, Lucas, Jaime, Hope, and other lost-but-not forgotten characters in one epic battle, for a grand series finale.
Thirteen by Kelley Armstrong is the final book in her Otherworld Series.  Let's be honest, there is no perfect ending to a loved series of books, because we ALWAYS want more.  We tell ourselves it's okay because we can read the books again from start to finish, but there is always that nagging thought that we want to know MORE.  Sometimes we get it, sometimes we don't, but it never takes away from the love of the author and their writing.  Thirteen is a great last book, bringing together past characters to battle the bad guy with the author's wonderful wit and heartfelt emotion. 

I don't want to give spoilers, but after waiting so long for Adam and Savannah to come to their senses, I will say the interaction between them was extremely satisfying.  Yes.  Extremely.  That said, the story is so much more than the relationship between the two of them.  There are heartwrenching moments throughout the story as sacrifices are made, and the fighting escalates.  Winning this battle isn't easy, and doesn't come without a price.  It wouldn't have been as good of a story if the end came easily.

Fans will not be disappointed in this final book, but like me, I'm sure they'll wish for a short story or novella in the future.   That's okay though, because that's what fans do, even as they smile and close the pages of the last book. If you haven't read Kelley Armstrong's series I highly recommend starting with Bitten, the first in the series, to get a feel for the world she's created.
Women of the Otherworld
1. Bitten (2001)
2. Stolen (2002)
3. Dime Store Magic (2003)
4. Industrial Magic (2004)
5. Haunted (2005)
6. Broken (2006)
7. No Humans Involved (2007)
8. Personal Demon (2008)
9. Living with the Dead (2008)
10. Frost Bitten (2009)
11. Waking the Witch (2010)
12. Spellbound (2011)
13. Thirteen (2012)
Otherworld Tales
Witch Magic(2004)
Angelic (2009)
Men of the Otherworld (2009)
Counterfeit Magic (2010)
Tales of the Otherworld (2010)
Becoming (2011)
Hidden (2011)
Chaotic (2012)
The Hunter and the Hunted(2012)

You can find out more about Kelley's Otherworld series, plus her other books, on her website:


Monday, August 27, 2012

Heroines Who Kick Butt

Heroines that kick butt, are intelligent, and show a compassionate side to their personalities are my favorite characters in the urban fantasy genre. Sometimes the heroine starts out as a bit of a loner, but then she comes to realize how important it is to ask for help when it's needed. This month I read two books with heroines that had me cheering for them and feeling their pain as they discovered who they could trust and what their place is in their world. 
The first kick butt gal is Arcadia Bell from the mind of Jenn Bennett in her book Summoning the Night. I love Arcadia because she's tough, independent, compassionate and she rolls with the punches. She's in a relationship with sexy Lon Butler, who comes with an energetic, smart and wiley son named Jupe. I loved the interaction between Cady and Jupe. His mother is vain and superficial, incapable of giving him any emotional support. He latches on to Cady, and becomes important to her too. They make a fun team when Lon isn't around, backing each other up in any situation. When Lon is around they become a family, which is a fragile circumstance for Cady, who was almost sacrificed by her own parents.

The second book in the series, Summoning the Night is a fast paced urban fantasy with romantic elements. The characters are rich, complex and often surprising. I highly recommend this series to fans of Ilona Andrews, Rob Thurman and Allison Pang.

I'm excited that there will be two new Arcadia Bell stories in the next year. Leashing the Tempest is a novella that takes place after the second book. It's a special Christmas story with Cady, Lon, Jupe and Kar Yee. In June of 2013 the third book, Binding the Shadows, will be released. I'm looking forward to not only Cady's adventures, but how the relationship between her, Lon and Jupe progresses. The books, including the future releases are as follows:

1. Kindling the Moon (2011)
2. Summoning the Night (2012)
2.5 Leashing the Tempest (December 2013)
3. Binding the Shadows (June 2013)

To find out more about Jenn and her books visit her at .
The second urban fantasy with a kick butt heroine is written by Kelly Gay. Shadows Before the Sun is the fourth book in the Charlie Madigan series and I must say it's the best one yet. Charlie has been through some tough times in this series, but she keeps going because of her daughter, and the other people she loves.  In the first three books she's fought her feelings for her partner Hank for many reasons.  We were left hanging at the end of the third book due to his arrest by officials from his home world.  Will they act on their feelings? Will Charlie be able to bring Hank home? Readers will not be disappointed in the events of Shadows Before the Sun. We learn more about Charlie's powers and the changes she's going through and how loyal she is to those around her. On top of all that, she kicks butt emotionally and physically, throughout the entire book.  The Charlie Madigan series is urban fantasy at it's best, and I certainly can't wait for the next book in the series to see what happens in her life and in the world Kelly Gay has created.  The series is best read in order, as follows:

1. The Better Part of Darkness (2009)
2. The Darkest Edge of Dawn (2010)
3. The Hour of Dust and Ashes (2011)
4. Shadows Before the Sun (2012)

To find out more about each book visit Kelly at

Monday, August 6, 2012

The Black Hole of Life?

I've been reading and writing since April, even though my posts came to a halt.  I've been keeping up my reviews at goodreads, and I'm writing from 6-8 home and garden articles per month to help pay some of the bills.  So, why did I fade into a black hole on my blog?

One 50th Anniversary party for Chuck's parents where we cooked for almost 200 peeps AND we managed to clean up pretty dang good...

One graduation for my middle son Michael...

Three birthdays on which certain people turned 18, 19 and 52, and one could have been me, the other two might have been my sons, including the 19 year old below wearing a Batman pin:)

Two break ups, a "let's get together" again, and then another break up. Names have been left out to protect the innocent, and well, not so innocent. Teenage hearts were tossed around and beaten up a bit:(

One graduation open house with hot wings, pulled pork, a taco bar, cake and other yummy food.  Oh yeah, and a table full of stuff I dug out from the graduate's childhood...

Then there was drama, more drama,  a broken truck, a broken van, kid's broken car and finally...

One mini-vacation!

I have some cool reviews coming up on the blog this month, and on goodreads.  Thanks to those who have hung in there with me:)