Tuesday, July 26, 2011

10 Years With Kelley Armstong's Otherworld Series

Spell Bound by Kelley Armstrong released today and it marks TEN years for her Otherworld Series that started with Bitten.

I loved this continuation of Savannah's story that started in Waking the Witch. It includes the banter I enjoyed so much between Adam and Savannah as they work together plus it was cool to see older characters take part in the action. The blurb below is from the publisher:

Spell Bound is once again told from the point of view of young Savannah Levine as she continues to navigate the world of supernaturals. Savannah is in terrible danger, and for once she’s powerless to help herself. At the conclusion of Waking the Witch, Savannah swore that she would give up her powers if it would help a young girl. Little did she know that someone would take her up on that promise. And now, witch hunting assassins, necromancers, half-demons, and rogue witches all seem to be after her. The threat is not just for Savannah; every member of the Otherworld might be at risk. While most of her fellow supernaturals are circling the wagons at a gathering of the council in Miami, Savannah is caught on the road, isolated from those who can protect her and unable to use her vast spell casting talent, the thing she counts on most. In a story that will change the shape of the Otherworld forever, Spell Bound gathers Elena, Clay, Paige, Lucas, Jaime, Hope, and others, who soon learn that the greatest threat to supernaturals just may come from within.

Last week I read the first book in the series, Bitten, as well as an ARC of Spell Bound. It struck me as I was reading Bitten, what an amazing job she did of getting into the "skin" of a shifter, both emotionally and physically. It's no small acomplishment to do this without losing the reader with too much description or confuse them with a lack of details. She manages to find that balance that makes the story engaging, emotional and suspenseful.

If you haven't read The Otherworld Series it's a great time to start since next year it will wrap up with the third book in Savannah's point of view and the 13th book in the series. Fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance will love Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld stories. They are timeless and will be read and appreciated for many years to come.

Women of the Otherworld Series
1. Bitten (2001)
2. Stolen (2002)
3. Dime Store Magic (2003)
4. Industrial Magic (2004)
5. Haunted (2005)
6. Broken (2006)
7. No Humans Involved (2007)
8. Personal Demon (2008)
9. Living with the Dead (2008)
10. Frost Bitten (2009)
11. Waking the Witch (2010)
12. Spellbound (2011)

Learn more about Kelley and her books on her website: http://www.kelleyarmstrong.com/books/