Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Southern Arcana From Moira Rogers

Crux, Crossroads
Southern Arcana, 1 & 2
Author: Moira Rogers
Format: Kindle Edition
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Available on Amazon

SUMMARY: The Southern Arcana books are novel-length paranormal romance set in a contemporary world where shapeshifters, psychics and spell casters of all sorts live secret lives beneath the radar. The paranormal world of Southern Arcana is not always a pretty place, so the books contain their share of violence and death, but if you make it through to the other side you'll always find a happy ending.

After reading all four Red Rock Pass books and the companion short stories on the authors' website, I was itching for more Moira Rogers. It's hard to put into words but the talented author duo that writes under the name Moira Rogers has a style that is laid back, sexy and witty. I decided to try the Southern Arcana series and was immediately sucked in by their style again. This time the series is set in New Orleans. The stories combine urban fantasy with mystery and sizzling paranormal romance. The first book, Crux, introduces the characters through the eyes of a young woman on the run from her past. She doesn't believe in magic, shifters or the supernatural, but is forced to confront her beliefs as her world is threatened. I loved all of the characters throughout the book, and had a hard time putting it down because of the suspense and action. Mackenzie Brooks is a great character because she's on her own, living a day at a time, and has to learn to trust those who want to help her. She grows into a tough, compassionate person during the story. I could really relate to her trust issues after experiencing a bad relationship.

I bought the second book in the series, Crossroads, before I had even finished the first book. I was not disappointed. The series continues with two characters we meet in the first book, Nicole and Derek, as the main focus, but the entire "gang" from Crux is present and accounted for in the story. It's a completely different struggle for these two people from different backgrounds to admit they care for each other. Once they do, things really become complex and dangerous.

The authors NEVER fail to make my stomach flutter and my eyes water at the end of each book. Don't get me wrong. They make the reader work for that ending with heart pounding action, and moments that you are SURE things can't possibly turn around. I look forward to each of their books because I know it will be a fascinating, sexy, crazy read that will make me laugh and cry by the time I'm finished.

The third book in the Southern Arcana series is Deadlock, which will be released as an e-book in January 2011. This one will feature Alec Jacobson who "the black sheep alpha who protects the supernatural residents of New Orleans from wolf politics." You can get to know Alec in the first two books, and let me just say that he is brooding, protective, loyal and sexy. I can't wait for Deadlock to be released.

You can find out more about Moira Rogers, and their paranormal books on their website here.