Friday, January 25, 2013

2012 Series Review: The Belador Series

In order to catch up with my reviews and blog posts, I'm going to review series that I either began to read in 2012, or caught up on by reading the latest book to be published after having followed it since the beginning.  I'll note all of those posts as "2012 Series Review"  with the title of the series.

The Curse 
 Belador Series #3 
Sherrilyn Kenyon 
Dianna Love 
Print Length: 417 pages 
Publisher: Pocket Books 
Released: September 18, 2012 
Available in Print and Digital 

SERIES SUMMARY: A league of international warriors with extraordinary abilities rise up to save mankind from supernatural terrorists. Three warriors bound by a Code of Honor face a world of trouble… Evalle Kincaid – An Alterant (part Belador and part unknown species) – A half breed, she works twice as hard as the pure blood Beladors. The Beladors are studying her as her powers progress and develop, because those powers can turn against her and humanity. 

I started reading this series in 2010 when I was sent a copy of Blood Trinity by the publisher . I've read each one, the latest being The Curse, which was released in September of 2012.  This series is paranormal romance mixed with urban fantasy, but I also feel it has a bit of epic fantasy to it as well.  Evalle Kincaid, the heroine, is the focus of the series.  There are two romantic interests, one human and one supernatural. After reading the second book these were my feelings about Evalle and Storm:

 The relationship between Evalle and Storm, a supernatural tracker with a secret Evalle keeps even from her friends, figures in the story prominently. He's a sexy alpha male with feelings that cause him to be uber protective of Evalle. The sexual tension is off the charts between the two of them but sex is not going to happen any time soon, which might put off some readers but I appreciated it. Evalle suffered sexual abuse in the past and it would have been insensitive and unrealistic to have her jump in the sack immediately with Storm, especially since he can tell she's been abused. 

The relationships in the series and the progress of the plot remind me of the Kate Daniel's series by Ilona Andrews in that more is revealed about Evalle, her past and her powers in each book. The romance is not the focus of the series, but it's an important element.  The books are a perfect mix of urban fantasy and paranormal romance with fast paced action and great characters in a gritty, complex world of magic.

The Belador Series 
1. Blood Trinity (2010)
2. Alterant (2011)
3. The Curse (2012)

Firebound is a free Belador short story that can be downloaded from Ms. Love's website.

The series officially began with the story Midnight Kiss Goodbye, which is part of Dead After Dark anthology, which features Trey and Sasha, but not Evalle. The couple does appear in the series, however.

I'm really looking forward to the next story in the series, coming out this summer:

4. RISE OF THE GRYPHON (July 2013)
Evalle’s best friends Tzader and Quinn face unthinkable choices, as relationships with the women they love grow twisted. Evalle’s relationship with the Skinwalker Storm takes a major step and becomes complicated when the witchdoctor he’s been hunting begins to stalk her. With death breathing down her neck, Evalle is forced to embrace her destiny . . . but at what price?

 Find out more at Dianna Love's website: